

The Red House 135 Station Road Impington, Cambridge CB24 9NP, UK

> IS/JAC/33557 8 April 2024

Circular Communication to Commissioners, Contracting Governments and Members of the Scientific Committee IWC.ALL.476 c.c. Accredited observers to the IWC

Provisional List of Funded Invited Participants to the Scientific Committee

Please find attached the list of provisional funded participants invited to attend the Scientific Committee Meeting to be held at the Rikli Balance Hotel in Bled, Slovenia 22 April to 3 May.

The list has been developed by the Chair of the Scientific Committee according to the process set out in the Committee's Rules of Procedure A.6(a) and supported by the Scientific Committee Handbook at paragraph 3.1.2. Invited participants are suggested by the Scientific Committee's Convenors based upon the priorities and initial agenda agreed by the Commission at the previous meeting.

Under the current financial constraints, limited funding is available from the Scientific Committee's Research Budget to support Invited Participant attendance at the meeting. Please note that the list of Invited Participants attached has already been reduced both in terms of overall numbers and the duration of their attendance. Where possible other experts will join specific discussions within sub-committee sessions remotely at the behest of the convenors with agreement of the SC Chair

Given the pressures on the Research Budget we would encourage Heads of Delegations to the SC or Commissioners to inform the Secretariat if there are scientists from their country, currently included on the attached list, that they could include within their delegation to cover their travel and subsistence funding requirements. Voluntary donations to the Scientific Committee Research Fund to help support Invited Participation and approved research projects would also be welcome.

Dr Iain Staniland Head of Science, Conservation and Management

Chair: Amadou Télivel Diallo (Republic of Guinea) Vice-Chair: Nick Gales (Australia) Executive Secretary: Martha Rojas Urrego