

The Red House 135 Station Road Impington, Cambridge CB24 9NP, UK

tel: +44 (0) 1223 233971 | *fax*: +44 (0) 1223 232876 *email*: secretariat@iwcoffice.org | *web*: iwcoffice.org

> SB/JAC/31629 17 January 2013

CIRCULAR COMMUNICATION TO COMMISSIONERS, CONTRACTING GOVERNMENTS AND MEMBERS OF THE SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE IWC.ALL.188

Structure of the Commission and Intersessional Working Groups

This Communication provides an updated structure of the Commission following the changes to working groups agreed at IWC64 in 2012. It also provides a list of the upcoming intersessional workshops.

Commission	
Chair:	Ms J. Compton-Antoine (St. Lucia)
Vice-Chair:	Mr F. Chemay (Belgium)

The Commission meets biennially. The next meeting will be held in September/October 2014.

The following intersessional group will report to the Commission at its 2014 meeting:

i.	Intersessior	nal Group on Anthropogenic Sound
	Chair:	Mr R. Wulff (USA)
	Members:	Australia, Mexico, South Africa
		This group was established during Commission discussions on anthropogenic
		sound at IWC64. The group is open to new members.

The reports of the following IWC workshops will be received by the Commission at its 2014 meeting:

i. IWC workshop on anthropogenic impacts to cetaceans in the Arctic. This 3 day workshop will be held in 2013 to address issues related to increased development in the Arctic and associated anthropogenic impacts on cetaceans.

Bureau	
Chair:	Ms J. Compton-Antoine (St. Lucia)
Vice-Chair:	Mr F. Chemay (Belgium)
Chair of the F&A Committee	Ms D. Petrachenko (Australia)
Members:	Mr M. Akyeampong (Ghana)
	Mr K. Kagawa (Japan)
	Mr T. Guardia (Panama)
	Mr R. Wulff (USA)

The Bureau was established at IWC/64 in 2012 and is constituted under Rule of Procedure M.9. The Bureau is expected to meet twice in 2013. The first time will be by teleconference in March and the second meeting will be in person in either September or October.

Chair: Ms Jeannine Compton-Antoine (St. Lucia)

Finance and Administration Committee

Chair: Ms D. Petrachenko (Australia)

Intersessional groups reporting to the F&A Committee

i.	Budgetary Sub-Committee		
	Chair:	Mr M. Krebs (Switzerland)	
	Vice-Chair:	Ms E. Phelps (USA)	
	Members:	Group 4: United Kingdom, Japan, USA; Group 3: Iceland, New Zealand; Group 2: San Marino, Russian Federation; Group 1: Guinea, Guinea-Bissau; Open seats: Both vacant.	
ii.	Working Group on assistance to Governments of limited means		
	Chair	Ms J. Compton-Antoine (St. Lucia)	
	Members:	Ecuador, Japan, Republic of Palau, Saint Lucia, USA	
		This group is open to new members.	
iii.	Intersessional correspondence group on strengthening IWC conservation funding		
	Chair:	Ms N. Clarke (United Kingdom)	
	Members:	Australia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Germany, Mexico, Monaco, USA.	
		This group is open to new members.	
iv.	Working group on operational effectiveness and cost savings measures		
	Chair:	Ms E. Phelps (USA)	
	Members:	Australia, United Kingdom, USA.	
		This group is open to new members.	

Aboriginal Subsistence Whaling Sub-Committee

Intersessional groups reporting to the Aboriginal Subsistence Whaling Sub-Committee:

i.	 Aboriginal Subsistence Whaling Working Group (ASWWG) Established after Commission endorsement of document IWC/63/12rev. 	
	Chair: Dr M. Tillman (USA)	
	Members:	Argentina, Austria, Denmark, Japan, Norway, Russian Federation, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Switzerland, USA.

Conservation Committee

Chair:	Mr L. Rojas-Bracho (Mexico)
Vice-Chair:	Mr J. Gray (United Kingdom)

Intersessional groups reporting to the Conservation Committee:

i.	Ship Strikes W	/orking Group (SSWG)
	Chair	Mr F. Chemay (Belgium)
	Members:	Australia, Argentina, Brazil, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Republic of Korea,
		Luxembourg, Portugal, New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, USA
	Observers:	ASCOBANS, EIA, M.E.E.R e.V
		This group is open to new members.

 Standing Working Group on Whalewatching (SWG-WW)
 Chair: Mr R. Wulff (USA)
 Members: Australia, Argentina, Chile, Costa Rica, Brazil, Ecuador, France, Mexico, New Zealand, Portugal, South Africa, United Kingdom, USA. Industry Representatives: Ms. Astrid Fisch (Mexico) and Mr Steve Mitchell (Australia). This group is open to new members. Standing Working Group on Conservation Management Plans (SWG-CMP)
 Chair: Ms⁻D. Petrachenko (Australia)
 Members: Argentina, Ghana, Italy, Mexico, South Africa, United Kingdom, USA, Chair of Scientific Committee
 Observers: Spain, UNEP
 This group is open to new members.

The Conservation Committee will also receive the reports of the following IWC workshops:

- An interdisciplinary workshop on cetacean ship strikes in the wider Caribbean region. This workshop is expected to be held in 2013 and was proposed through document IWC/64/WKM&AWI 12
- ii. Workshop on marine debris and cetaceans. This workshop will be organised jointly by the Conservation Committee and the Scientific Committee.

Infractions Sub-Committee		
	-	

Chair: Prof. L. Walløe (Norway)

Whale Killing Methods and Associated Welfare Issues Sub-Committee (WKM&AWI) Chair: Mr H. Oosthuizen (South Africa)

The WKM&AWI Sub-Committee will hear the reports of the following IWC workshops:

- i. IWC workshop on the effective welfare management of live stranded cetaceans: improving networks and guidance for euthanasia. This workshop will be held in late 2013 at the Institute of Zoology in London, United Kingdom. Invitations will be sent from the Secretariat to all IWC Contracting Parties by April 2013.
- ii. A large whale entanglement response training workshop for Spanish speaking countries in the Wider Caribbean Region. This workshop was held 27-29 November 2012 at La Paz, Mexico.
- iii. A large whale entanglement response training workshop for French speaking countries in the Wider Caribbean Region. This workshop is planned to take place during 2013 and further details will be available shortly.

(At IWC/64 in 2012 the Commission also approved a proposal from the WKM&AWI Sub-committee for an interdisciplinary ship strike workshop in the wider Caribbean region. The report of this workshop will be heard by the Conservation Committee).

Scientific Committee	
Chair:	Mr T. Kitakado (Japan)
Vice-Chair:	Ms C. Fortuna (Italy)

The full Scientific Committee continues to meet annually and the next meeting will be held in Korea in June 2013. The Committee operates 13 Sub-committees. Each Sub-committee's workplan is described in the relevant section of the Scientific Committee's report.

The Sub-committees are:

- i. Revised Management Procedure (RMP)
- ii. Aboriginal Whaling Management Procedure (AWMP)
- iii. Bowhead, right and gray whales (BRG)
- iv. In-depth assessment (IA)
- v. Bycatch and other human-induced mortality (BC)
- vi. Stock definition (SD)
- vii. DNA
- viii. Environmental concerns (E)
- ix. Ecosystem modelling (EM)
- x. Southern Hemisphere whales other than Antarctic minke whales (SH)
- xi. Small cetaceans (SM)
- xii. Whalewatching (WW)
- xiii. Special Permits (SP)

In addition to these Sub-committees the Scientific Committee receives reports of work undertaken (1) through the Southern Ocean Research Partnership (SORP); (2) through the IWC voluntary fund for small cetacean conservation research and (3) through the expert panel approach agreed for special permit reviews.

The Scientific Committee will hold a number of intersessional workshops (additional to the Commission workshops listed above) whose reports will be considered at the Committee's Annual Meeting. In the 2012-2013 intersessional period these include workshops on RMP Implementations and related matters including stock structure, AWMP development, and the POWER cruise programme (North Pacific Ocean Whale and Ecosystem Research).

Simon Brockington Executive Secretary

c.c. Intergovernmental Organisation observers to the IWC