

Chairman Mr Michael Canny (Ireland)

Vice-Chairman Prof. Bo Fernholm (Sweden)

Secretary Dr Ray Gambell OBE RG/JAC/27102 The Red House 135 Station Road Histon, Cambridge CB4 4NP U.K.

Tel: +44 (0) 1223 233971 Fax: +44 (0) 1223 232876

EMail: iwcoffice@compuserve.com

26 February 1998

## CIRCULAR COMMUNICATION TO COMMISSIONERS, CONTRACTING GOVERNMENTS AND MEMBERS OF THE SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE IWC.ALL.7

## Invited Participants and Nationally Nominated Scientists at the Scientific Committee Meeting

The Commission requires that a provisional list of participants invited to attend the Scientific Committee under its Rule of Procedure A.6, and the Sub-committees to which they would contribute, should be circulated 60 days before the meeting, with a final list attached to the Report of the Scientific Committee [Rep. int. Whal. Commn 37:21 (1987)]. To minimise the risk that scientists invited in a personal capacity could be wrongly perceived to be official country representatives the institution and domicile information is separated into two distinct columns [Rep. int. Whal. Commn 46:39 (1996)].

Based on discussions between the Chairman of the Scientific Committee and Convenors of the Sub-committees, the provisional list for the 1998 meeting is as follows:

| Name           | Institute                        | Domicile     | Sub-Committee/<br>Subject |
|----------------|----------------------------------|--------------|---------------------------|
| C.S. Baker     | Univ. of Auckland                | New Zealand  | OGW (HU)                  |
| R.M. Baldwin   |                                  | Oman         | SM                        |
| P. Best        | MRI Whale Unit, SA Museum        | South Africa | OGW (HU, SP)              |
| A. von Bismark |                                  | USA          | E                         |
| D. Borchers    | Univ. of St. Andrews             | UK           | RMP,AWMP,AS,OGW           |
| M. Brown       | Univ. of Cape Town               | South Africa | OGW (HU)                  |
| S. Buckland    | Univ. of St. Andrews             | UK           | RMP,AWMP,AS,OGW           |
| D. Butterworth | Univ. of Cape Town               | South Africa | RMP,AWMP,AS,OGW           |
| M. Cawthorn    |                                  | New Zealand  | OGW (HU,SP)               |
| C.T. Chen      | National Taiwan Ocean University | Taiwan       | OGW, SM                   |
| E. Clarke      | Univ. of St. Andrews             | UK           | RMP                       |
| J. Cooke       |                                  | Germany      | RMP,AWMP,AS,OGW           |
| P. Ensor       |                                  | New Zealand  | OGW                       |
| K. Findlay     | Univ. of Cape Town               | South Africa | OGW                       |
| A. Hiby        |                                  | UK           | RMP                       |
| E. Hofmann     | Old Dominion University          | USA          | E                         |
| R. Huele       |                                  | Netherlands  | CRW                       |
| S. Innes       | Canadian Dept. Fish. & Oceans    | Canada       | AS                        |
| T. Kasuya      | Mie University                   | Japan        | OGW (SP), SM              |
| R. Leaper      |                                  | UK           | RMP                       |
| D. Ljungblad   |                                  | USA          | OGW                       |
| V.V. Melnikov  | Pacific Oceanological Inst.      | Russian Fed. | AS                        |
| Y. Mikhalev    |                                  | Ukraine      | OGW (SP)                  |

| Name             | Institute                  | Domicile  | Sub-Committee/  |
|------------------|----------------------------|-----------|-----------------|
|                  |                            |           | Subject         |
| V. Papastavrou   |                            | UK        | WW              |
| L. Pastene       | Inst. of Cetacean Research | Japan     | OGW             |
| C. Pinedo        | FURG                       | Brazil    | OGW, SM         |
| T. Polacheck     | CSIRO                      | Australia | RMP,AWMP,AS,OGW |
| A. Punt          | CSIRO                      | Australia | RMP,AWMP,AS,OGW |
| K. Magnusson     |                            | Iceland   | RMP,AWMP        |
| R. Reeves        |                            | Canada    | SM              |
| M. Simmonds      | University of Greenwich    | UK        | WW              |
| K. van Waerebeek | CEPEC                      | Peru      | SM              |
| Q. Zhu           | Chinese Academy of Science | China     | OGW             |

## Key to abbreviations

AS Aboriginal Subsistence Whaling

AWMP Aboriginal Subsistence Whaling Management Procedure

CRW Computerised Recognition Work

E Environmental Concerns

HU Humpbacks

OGW Other Great Whales

RMP Revised Management Procedure

SM Small Cetaceans SP Sperm Whales WW Whalewatching

Commissioners, Contracting Governments and members of the Scientific Committee are reminded of the Commission's Rule of Procedure D.1. copied below. It is necessary for the names of all participants to be properly notified in writing before or when the delegates attend the Scientific Committee Meeting. Fax notifications will not be acceptable as the formal credentials.

## D. Credentials

- 1. (a) The names and status of all participants, advisers and observers to any meeting of the Commission or committees, as specified in the Rules of Procedure of the Commission, Technical and Scientific Committees, shall be notified to the Secretary in writing before their participation and/or attendance at each meeting. The written notification shall be made by governments or the authority appointed by them or the heads of organisations as the case may be.
- (b) In the case of members of delegations who will attend the Annual Commission Meeting and its associated meetings, the notification may be made *en bloc* by submitting a list of the members who will attend any of these meetings.
- (c) The Secretary, or his representative, shall report on the received notifications at the beginning of a meeting.
- (d) In case of any doubt as to the authenticity of notification or in case of apparent delay in their delivery, the chairman of the meeting shall convene an *ad hoc* group of no more than one representative from any Contracting Government present to decide upon the question of participation in the meeting.

Dr. R. Gambell Secretary to the Commission