

The Red House 135 Station Road Impington, Cambridge CB24 9NP, UK

tel: +44 (0) 1223 233971 | *fax:* +44 (0) 1223 232876 *email:* secretariat@iwcoffice.org | *web:* iwcoffice.org

DP/JAC/31556 14 June 2012

CIRCULAR COMMUNICATION TO COMMISSIONERS, CONTRACTING GOVERNMENTS AND MEMBERS OF THE SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE IWC.ALL.179

Chair and Vice-Chair of the Scientific Committee

As many of you will be aware my three year term as Chair of the Scientific Committee will come to a close at the end of this year's Commission meeting.

I am very pleased to report that the current Vice-Chair Dr Toshihide Kitakado (Japan) has agreed to take on the role of Chair of the Scientific Committee in accordance with the Scientific Committee's Rule of Procedure C.5. Dr Kitakado will become Chair at the conclusion of this year's Commission's meeting and will serve for a period of three years.

Additionally, I am pleased to report that following a meeting of the Heads of Delegation to the Scientific Committee held today in Panama that Dr Caterina Fortuna (Italy) has been appointed to the role of Vice-Chair of the Scientific Committee by consensus agreement. Accordingly Dr Fortuna will replace Dr Kitakado as Vice-Chair at the conclusion of the current meeting.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all members of the Scientific Committee for the considerable support and encouragement that I have received during my term as Chair. I wish Dr Kitakado and Dr Fortuna every success with their new roles.

Dr Debi Palka Chair of the Scientific Committee

c.c. Intergovernmental Organisation observers to the IWC

Interim-Chair: Mr H. Oosthuizen (South Africa)

Secretary: Dr Simon Brockington