

The Red House 135 Station Road Impington, Cambridge CB24 9NP, UK

tel: +44 (0) 1223 233971 | fax: +44 (0) 1223 232876 email: secretariat@iwcoffice.org | web: iwcoffice.org

> SB/JAC/31487 23 February 2012

# CIRCULAR COMMUNICATION TO COMMISSIONERS, CONTRACTING GOVERNMENTS AND MEMBERS OF THE SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE IWC.ALL.175

# **Commission's Sub-Committees and intersessional Working Groups**

I have been asked to provide an update on the structure of the Commission's Sub-Committees and intersessional working groups ahead of the 64<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting to be held in Panama 2-6 July 2012.

<b>COMMISSION</b> Interim Chair: Vice Chair:	Mr. H. Oosthuizen (South Africa) Vacant		
Advisory Committee			
Members: Interim Chair of the Commission	Mr. H. Oosthuizon (South Africa)		
Vice-Chair	Mr. H. Oosthuizen (South Africa) Vacant		
Chair of the F&A Committee	Ms. D. Petrachenko (Australia)		
Member	Vacant		
Member	Ms. M. Medina (USA)		
Finance and Administration Committee			

Chair:

Ms. D. Petrachenko (Australia)

Intersessional Groups Reporting to the Finance and Administration Committee

1	Budgetary Sub-Committee		
	Chair:	Mr M. Krebs (Switzerland)	
	Members:	Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Iceland, Japan, New Zealand, Russian	
		Federation, San Marino, St Kitts and Nevis, Switzerland, UK, USA	
2	Working Group on Biennial Meetings and Establishment of a Bureau (IGBB)		
	Chair:	Ms D. Petrachenko (Australia)	
	Members:	Brazil, Colombia, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Japan, New Zealand, Switzerland, USA	
3	Intersessional Group to examine the issue of a quorum within the IWC Rules of Procedure (IGQ)		
	Chair:	Mr G. van Boheman (New Zealand)	
	Members:	Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Japan, Monaco, New Zealand, Panama, Switzerland, UK, USA	

4 Working Group to compile a report on providing assistance to Member Governments with limited means to participate in the Commission's work (WG-AGLM)

Established under Resolution 2011-1 Convened by the Secretary Members: Ecuador, Japan, Rep. of Palau, USA

- 5
   Intersessional correspondence group on strengthening IWC conservation funding

   Chair:
   Ms N. Clarke (United Kingdom)

   Members
   Australia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Germany, Monaco, UK, USA
- Working Group on the role of Observers
   Established under Resolution 2011-1
   To be convened by the Secretary immediately prior to IWC/64

### **Aboriginal Subsistence Whaling Sub-Committee**

Chair: (Japan)

Intersessional groups reporting to the Aboriginal Subsistence Whaling Sub-Committee:

### 1 Aboriginal Subsistence Whaling Working Group (ASWWG).

Established after Commission endorsement of document IWC/63/12rev. An update of the group's progress was provided in Circular Communication IWC.CCG.984. Chair: Mr R. Schmitten (USA) Members: Argentina, Austria, Denmark, Japan. Norway, Russian Federation. St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Switzerland, USA

#### **Conservation Committee**

Chair: Lorenzo Rojas-Bracho (Mexico)

Intersessional groups reporting to the Conservation Committee:

1	Ship Strikes Working Group (SSWG)	
	Chair:	Vacant
	Members:	Australia, Argentina, Brazil, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Korea, Rep. of, Luxembourg, Portugal, New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, USA
	Observers:	ASCOBANS, EIA, M.E.E.R e.V.
2	Standing Working Group on Whalewatching (SWG-WW)	
	Chair:	Mr R. Wulff (USA)
	Members:	Argentina, Australia, Brazil, France, Mexico, New Zealand,
		South Africa, UK, USA
3	Standing Working Group of	on Conservation Management Plans (SWG-CMP)

Ms D. Petrachenko (Australia)

# Infractions Sub-Committee

Chair:

Chair: Mr L. Walløe (Norway)

### Whale Killing and Associated Welfare Issues Sub-Committee

Chair: Herman Oosthuizen (South Africa)

The following intersessional Workshop will report to the WKM&AWI Sub-Committee at IWC/64

1 Second IWC Workshop on Welfare Issues Associated with the Entanglement of Large Whales. Workshop held 24-26 October 2011 at Provincetown, USA. Report circulated via IWC.ALL.174 of 27 January 2012.

At IWC/64 the Whale Killing and Associated Welfare Issues Sub-Committee will also hear a report of an intersessional ad-hoc working group convened by the United Kingdom on animal welfare and ethics.

#### **Scientific Committee**

Chair: Debbie Palka (USA) Vice-Chair: Toshihide Kitakado (Japan)

The Scientific Committee operates 13 Sub-committees. Each Sub-committee's workplan is described in the relevant section of the Scientific Committee report<sup>1</sup> and priorities for discussion at the 2012 meeting are compiled at Section 21 (p.60) of the 2011 report.

The Sub-committees are:

- 1 Revised Management Procedure (RMP)
- 2 Aboriginal Whaling Management Procedure (AWMP)
- 3 Bowhead, Right and Gray whales (BRG)
- 4 In-depth assessment (IA)
- 5 Bycatch and other human-induced mortality (BC)
- 6 Stock definition (SD)
- 7 DNA
- 8 Environmental concerns (E)
- 9 Ecosystem modelling (EM)
- 10 Southern Hemisphere whales other than Antarctic minke whales (SH)
- 11 Small cetaceans (SM)
- 12 Whalewatching (WW)
- 13 Scientific Permits

In addition the Scientific Committee will also hear a report of the intersessional work undertaken by the Southern Ocean Research Partnership (SORP).

Simon Brockington Secretary to the Commission

c.c. Intergovernmental Organisation observers to the IWC

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Scientific Committee report from its 2011 meeting can be downloaded at <u>http://iwcoffice.org/sci\_com/screport.htm</u>