## CIRCULAR COMMUNICATION TO COMMISSIONERS, CONTRACTING GOVERNMENTS AND MEMBERS OF THE SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE ${\rm IWC.ALL.72}$

## IWC/56 Sorrento: Information on visa requirements for Italy

The following information was extracted from the web site of the Italian Embassy in London (http://www.embitaly.org.uk) on 20 February 2004. This information is provided as a guide, and I urge you to verify your own requirements.

## You do **NOT NEED A VISA** for Italy if you are:

- a citizen of the EU/EEA/EFTA
- a citizen of a country listed below (for a period of up to 90 days):

Andorra	Czech Republic	Lithuania	Romania
Argentina	El Salvador	Macao (Special	San Marino
Australia	Estonia	Passport)	Singapore
Bolivia	Guatemala	Malaysia	Slovakia
Brazil	Holy See	Malta	Slovenia
Brunei	Honduras	Mexico	South Korea
Bulgaria	Hong Kong	Monaco	Switzerland
Canada	(HKSARP)	New Zealand	USA
Chile	Hungary	Nicaragua	Uruguay
Costa Rica	Israel	Panama	Venezuela
Croatia	Japan	Paraguay	
Cyprus	Latvia	Poland	

## • a holder of a Diplomatic, Official or Service Passport for:

Algeria	Dominican Rep	Lesotho	Philippine	Togo
Barbados	Egypt	Macedonia(FYROM)	Senegal	Tunisia
Benin	Fiji	Morocco	Serbia and Monten.	Turkey
Botswana	Guyana	Mauritania	Swaziland	Uganda
Burkina Faso	Kuwait	Niger	Thailand	West Samoa
Dominica	Ivory Coast	Peru	The Gambia	

• a holder of a Diplomatic Passport for:

Albania Bulgaria Romania

If you are a citizen of a country which has not been included in the above list you will need a "Schengen visa" to enter any Schengen member State, including Italy, for a period of up to three months.

Nationals from the following list of countries should allow several weeks from the date of appointment for the processing of their application:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijian, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bielorussia, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Georgia, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyizstan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Moldavia, Nigeria, Oman, Palestine, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, United Arab Emirates, Vietnam, Yemen.

Please refer to the Italian Embassy's website for details on the different types of visa available.

Dr. Nicky Grandy Secretary to the Commission